It’s Up To You To Keep God in the Public School

God is omnipresent!

Psalm 139:7-12 says:

7 Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? 8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. 9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, 10 even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. 11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” 12 even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you. (NIV) 

flower

As much as God is in the trees and the rivers and the deserts, He is also in our hearts. It is this simple fact which enables us to teach God’s Word while utilizing a secular curriculum.

As with any public school curriculum, there will be parts of it that, as Christians, we may not agree with. The beauty of having our children use this curriculum at home is that if questions arise we are there to explain the differences between the Christian and secular worldviews. I think it is important, as parents, that we educate our children as to what other people in the world believe. I also believe that any curriculum can inspire, guide, teach, lift, and encourage when taught from a biblical perspective.

book-92771_640

There are many ways to integrate our faith into the curriculum of a virtual charter school.

Language Arts:

  • Utilize scripture for copywork and handwriting practice.
  • Utilize Christian writing prompts.
  • Retell Bible stories to check for comprehension skills

Math:

  • Use the Bible to skip-count (Noah’s Ark)
  • What was the area of the ark?
  • This page offers some more great ideas for using the Bible to teach math.

Math from a Biblical Perspective

Social Studies:

  • Use a map to figure out where the ancient countries were in the modern world.
  • Research the customs of biblical figures to understand the Bible better
  • How are we the same or different than figures from the Bible.

Science:

  • Take a nature walk and discuss how God is in all things.
  • Try a science experiment based on scripture. For some great ideas go to childrensministry.com

One of my favorite bible verses is Proverbs 22:6:

Train up a child in the way he should go,

and when he is old he will not turn from it. (NIV)

These words cut to the very core of what we, as Christian parents, are commanded to do. No matter how we educate our children there is one constant—God is God and we are responsible to teach our children the truth.

God Bless 🙂

Christy

All pictures courtesy of http://pixabay.com/

I am a Christian, Virtual/Homeschooling mom of 3 who loves helping my children realize those AWESOME "lightbulb" moments!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Inspiration
3 comments on “It’s Up To You To Keep God in the Public School
  1. I think as Christian parents (and Christians in general) should lead by example. I used to homeschool and used Sonlight to educate my children. Now that they are all in public school, I continue to speak with them about our faith and how they can use it in dealing with situations they encounter. Great article!

  2. Michelle says:

    I really appreciate this post. Keeping God in our day helps keep him in the front of our mind instead of at the back.

  3. Fantastic! As long as you take God with you, He will definitely remain in school! Great ideas, too!

Leave a Reply

Join 532 other followers

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Hearts for Home Blog Hop
Suggested Reading
Virtual Education Blog

Casey A. Carlson

the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

My Cozy Ranch Home

Loving our Life!

Teaching Craft

Work, resources + blog

goldenreflections1

Just another WordPress.com site

Empowering Thought for Today

Empowering YOU to make the change!

The Road to Domestication

Our Christian/Homeschool Life in a Virtual World

