Un-Scheduled Field Trip

science_astronomy_universeVirtual homeschooling is a beautiful mix of traditional homeschooling and traditional public schooling.  On Monday, my daughter and I had the opportunity to take advantage of one of the homeschool perks of our virtual world.

This coming Thursday, August 29th, R will be celebrating 11 years in this world.  Her favorite topic of study right now is astronomy and she has been wanting to go to the planetarium for as long as I can remember.  Unfortunately, the planetarium is rather expensive so I haven’t been able to take her 😦

In What I Did on my Summer Vacation — Part 2, I explained that The Arizona Science Center is a fantastic, hands-on museum in downtown Phoenix.  I was lucky enough to purchase a phenomenal summer deal for free general admission for 4 people all summer long.  Sadly, this deal expires on September 2nd.

What I failed to mention was that inside the science center is a Planetarium.  Of course, they charge a separate admission fee for the planetarium.  I decided to use my awesome summer deal to cover the science center general admission and only pay for the planetarium.  We had a wonderful time!

R waiting for the show to begin!

R waiting for the show to begin!

R decided that she wanted to see “Extreme Planets”.  They took us on an hour long trip through many different solar systems to planets that would have been science fiction not so long ago.  Our favorite was a planet where there are volcanoes that spew diamonds!

As we sat in the darkened theater on a Monday afternoon with the planets and stars spinning around us, I thanked God yet again for the amazing opportunity Connections Academy has afforded us.  If my kiddos were attending a traditional school, I wouldn’t have been able to take this un-scheduled field trip.  There are still lessons to complete and topics to discuss, but I was able to enjoy my daughter on a Monday afternoon.

God bless 🙂

Christy

I am a Christian, Virtual/Homeschooling mom of 3 who loves helping my children realize those AWESOME "lightbulb" moments!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Inspiration, Science, Uncategorized, Why Choose a Virtual School
3 comments on “Un-Scheduled Field Trip
  1. Absolutely LOVE planetariums! Hope you had a wonderful time!!!

  2. I agree. It is a blessing to have this flexibility and spend more time with our kids.

Leave a Reply

Join 532 other followers

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Hearts for Home Blog Hop
Suggested Reading
Virtual Education Blog

Casey A. Carlson

the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

My Cozy Ranch Home

Loving our Life!

Teaching Craft

Work, resources + blog

goldenreflections1

Just another WordPress.com site

Empowering Thought for Today

Empowering YOU to make the change!

The Road to Domestication

Our Christian/Homeschool Life in a Virtual World

