What I Did on My Summer Vacation—Part 1

Do you remember going back to school when you were a child?  I sure do!  One thing, in particular, I remember about back-to-school was writing a paper entitled “What I Did on My Summer Vacation”.

I took a hiatus from writing to spend more quality time with my monkeys this summer and we had a great time!  I love being a stay-at-home-mom…it is the best job in the world!  Now that it is Back-To-School, once again, and I thought I would share “What I Did On My Summer Vacation”.

Montezuma Castle and Well:

One place we went was a native american ruin about 2 hours north of where we live called “Montezuma Castle”.  A short distance away is “Montezuma Well”.  This monument was mistakenly named after the Aztec Emperor, Montezuma.  It was actually the Sinagua people who built this “pre-historic high rise apartment building”.

Tuzigoot:

Tuzigoot is another Sinagua ruin.  This one is set on a hill in the middle of a valley.  It gave the occupants a great defensive advantage.  The really cool thing about Tuzigoot is the ability to actually walk through the ruins instead of just looking at them from afar.

Jerome:

Jerome, AZ is touted as America’s largest ghost town.  As a child, my parents would drag me and my siblings on long car rides to visit places I didn’t care about 🙂 I am very glad they did.  I am now a huge history buff and love visiting any historical site I can find!  Now, it’s my turn to drag my kids to these places.  Jerome has a fascinating history.  It was founded in the 1880’s and millions of dollars worth of copper, gold, and silver was mined out before the closing of the last mine in 1953.  In the 1920’s, the population was around 15,000, but after the mine closed, the population fell to only 50 people, and Jerome became a ghost town.  As the years went on, artisits eventually discovered the town and revived it.  The current population is about 500.  It is definitely a tourist trap, but the history, view, and restored buildings were worth the visit.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We did a lot more this summer, but that is for another post.  I hope you had a great summer vacation, too!

God Bless 🙂

Christy

I am a Christian, Virtual/Homeschooling mom of 3 who loves helping my children realize those AWESOME "lightbulb" moments!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
8 comments on “What I Did on My Summer Vacation—Part 1
  1. How neat!!!

    Kristen from The Road to Domestication
    http://www.theroadtodomestication.com

  2. I do remember having to write about what we did on summer vacation every year. Even though we always did something or went somewhere I hated writing lol. Looks like you had a great time. Its amazing the things we dont want to do when we are younger and then we find ourselves doing them as adults.

    • Hi, Bernadette! Thanks for stopping by. We have had a wonderful summer full of some amazing adventures 🙂 I used to dread writing about my summer vacation when I was a kid, too! It seemed an appropriate post to get my school year rolling, though. I will be posting more of our adventures later. Have a blessed day 🙂

  3. Guess what?! I’ve nominated your blog for the Sunshine Award! GO HERE (http://theroadtodomestication.com/2013/07/31/the-sunshine-award/) to see what it’s all about! I hope you’ll participate – it’s lots of fun 🙂 Have a great day!

    Kristen from The Road to Domestication
    http://www.theroadtodomestication.com

  4. Sounds like a great summer! We got dragged around to historical sites all the time as kids, too (because my parents were fascinated by them, but also because they were free or cheap!). But like you, I’m very glad they did! I’d love to see Montezuma’s castle someday! Is it possible I read about it in a Zane Gray book?

  5. […] my last post, What I Did on My Summer Vacation — Part 1, I shared some of the places we visited this summer.  We had so many fun adventures, that I […]

Leave a Reply

Join 532 other followers

Hearts for Home Blog Hop
Suggested Reading
Virtual Education Blog

Casey A. Carlson

the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

My Cozy Ranch Home

Loving our Life!

Teaching Craft

Work, resources + blog

goldenreflections1

Just another WordPress.com site

Empowering Thought for Today

Empowering YOU to make the change!

The Road to Domestication

Our Christian/Homeschool Life in a Virtual World

