Summer School is Here!

As a virtually schooling family, we still have a couple of weeks left before the school year ends.  The last official day of school is May 30th.  Every year, without fail, my kids look at me as if I have two heads when I ask them the dreaded question:

“What do you want to learn this summer?”

You would think that after years of hearing it, they would be better prepared for my inquiry.  But, alas, I get the same deer-in-the-headlights gaze every May {sigh}.

In years past, I have scoured through workbooks for the next grade level my kiddos would be entering and blocked time each day for them to sharpen their minds (along with their pencils).  These tasks were normally met with many groans and much gnashing of teeth.

This year, I have decided to try something different.  I spoke with each child, individually, and we discussed their goals for next year—one specific area that they felt they were struggling with.  I encouraged them to take a good look at themselves and really try to see where they needed the most practice.  We also discussed something that would be fun to learn about.

Here are the areas each child decided to work on this summer:cursive

  • “J”– 6 years old–2nd grade:  Spelling and cursive handwriting: Handwriting For Kids has a neat alphabet animation to help show the kids how to form the letters correctly.  PBS Kids has 14 FREE online spelling games for “J” to play with his favorite characters.
  • latin
  • “R”–10 years old–6th grade:  Latin and creative writing:  I have ordered the book, Getting Started With Latin, and I can’t wait to start learning this fascinating language with my daughter.  For creative writing, we will be using 113 Christian Writing Prompts.
  •  “B”–14 years old–9th grade:  Algebra and Spanish: CoolMath.comMath.com, and Algebra 1 Online have some greatalgebra resources for learning Algebra.  For Spanish, I have signed “B” up for Live Mocha, a FREE, online language learning program.
  •  “M”–17 years old–11th grade: Geometry (2nd semester)Pinnacle Online High School offers FREE summer school courses. geometry My oldest will be able to capture the 1/2 credit he is short and still keep his part-time job.  YAY! 

This year, the kiddos actually seem excited about summer school and I can’t wait to help them learn!

God Bless 🙂

Christy

I am a Christian, Virtual/Homeschooling mom of 3 who loves helping my children realize those AWESOME "lightbulb" moments!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Inspiration, Uncategorized
6 comments on “Summer School is Here!
  1. My son has been dying to spell his name in cursive. Excellent suggestion! And thanks for the link!

  2. Great ideas! My daughter (going into 3rd grade) loves watching Little House on the Prairie tv series. For her birthday when people asked what to get her I told them to start the LIttle House book set. She got the first three books with a promise from the gifter that when she finishes them she will supply the next set. So she is excited and I am running with the idea. We bought a galvenized tube, a washboard, clothing line and clothes pins. We also bought a bucket to carry water and work just like the Ingalls did. I even plan on having Bridget take a bath the way Laura would have, in the big tub with heated water from the stove. I am also planning some fun activites like indian beading and I am looking for a local powwow in the area for the summer. I would love to visit a ranch too but I am thinking what I got planned is just fine. It’s important to take something they like and turn it into a educational experience. They won’t know what hit them when they wake up knowing so much and actually counting the minutes down to reading time. 😛

    • WOW, Theresa! That sounds so amazing 🙂 I think I remember seeing pictures of a Laura themed birthday on FB. Was that you? You have so many amazing ideas for teaching your children through their interests—I love it! Thank you for inspiring me 🙂

  3. Alaina says:

    I am learning a lot from your homeschooling techniques. When my boy gets school age we want to homeschool!

    • I am so glad to inspire you 🙂 Our virtual charter school gives us so many opportunities that we never had in a traditional brick and mortar school. Thank you for your kind words 🙂

Leave a Reply

Join 532 other followers

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Hearts for Home Blog Hop
Suggested Reading
Virtual Education Blog

Casey A. Carlson

the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

My Cozy Ranch Home

Loving our Life!

Teaching Craft

Work, resources + blog

goldenreflections1

Just another WordPress.com site

Empowering Thought for Today

Empowering YOU to make the change!

The Road to Domestication

Our Christian/Homeschool Life in a Virtual World

