The Differences Between Virtual Home School and Traditional Home School

ID-10075665

Image courtesy of   sheelamohanFreeDigitalPhotos.net

There are distinct differences between a virtual charter school and a traditional homeschool.  I have  listed a few of the differences below.

These are not all encompassing.  They are simply observations I have made over 3 years.

I also want to be clear that I have never traditionally homeschooled my children.  These observations have been gleaned from articles I have read and people I have talked with.

I am also not saying that one is better than the other.  I am simply saying that they are different.

  1. CURRICULUM CHOICE:  A traditional homeschool parent has the choice of what curriculum to use; whereas, a virtual homeschool parent is given a curriculum to use.  We are, however, free to supplement the curriculum in whatever fashion we choose. I use many different methods to enhance the curriculum we are given. 
  2. CERTIFIED TEACHERS:  A traditional homeschool parent must teach their child and answer all questions which arise.  If needed, they must also seek out and, at times, pay for tutors for their students.  A virtual homeschool parent has a certified teacher guiding their child.  If a question comes up that I do not know the answer to, I tell my student to speak with the teacher.
  3. ASSESSMENTS/GRADES:  A traditional homeschool parent is responsible for administering assessments and grading their childrens work.  A virtual homeschool parent leaves the grading in the hands of the teachers.  We do, however, have more say over grades than our brick & mortar counterparts.There have been times over the last 3 years thatr I have disagreed with an assessment of my child’s skills.  In those cases, I have spoken with the teacher and resolved the matter.  More times than not, however, I have felt that the grade received was appropriate.

As I stated in a previous post, Let’s Build Each Other Up,  each of us have different reasons for the choice we have made, but there is one reason that I believe is universal — a dedication to our children.

God Bless 🙂

Christy

I am a Christian, Virtual/Homeschooling mom of 3 who loves helping my children realize those AWESOME "lightbulb" moments!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “The Differences Between Virtual Home School and Traditional Home School
  1. I am lucky to have a virtual school set up by the state of Colorado for free. I will be choosing to go that route, hopefully my kids will be able to handle it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Join 532 other followers

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Hearts for Home Blog Hop
Suggested Reading
Virtual Education Blog

Casey A. Carlson

the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

My Cozy Ranch Home

Loving our Life!

Teaching Craft

Work, resources + blog

goldenreflections1

Just another WordPress.com site

Empowering Thought for Today

Empowering YOU to make the change!

The Road to Domestication

Our Christian/Homeschool Life in a Virtual World

