Standardized Testing

school_homework

As much as I love our virtual school, there are times I wish I had taken a different path.

AIMS week is one of those times.

The Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) test is required for all students in grades 3 – 12.  Arizona also requires that public school students pass this exam in order to graduate from high school.  At the present time, home school students in our state are not required to submit to these standardized tests.

While I do believe in assessing a students knowledge, I do not believe that a single test should determine whether my child graduates from high school or not.

According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, the word standard means “regularly and widely used”.  The word test means “a critical examination”.  If you put these two words together, you come up with a “widely used critical examination”.  Just because an examination is widely used, doesn’t mean that it accurately evaluates a persons knowledge.  You couldn’t give an elephant the same type of exam as a fish, one of them is going to fail.

One thing I have learned through this adventure of ours is that all of my children learn in different ways.  They all have different strengths and weaknesses.  What works for one child may not, necessarily, work for another.  In the same way, how can one form of testing be correct for every child?

I don’t know what the solution is, but I do know that standardized testing is not the answer.

God Bless 🙂

Christy

I am a Christian, Virtual/Homeschooling mom of 3 who loves helping my children realize those AWESOME "lightbulb" moments!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Standardized Testing
  1. godmadeknown says:

    My 3rd grade son will be taking his first standardized test next week as required for all homeschoolers here in Hawaii. When I received a sample practice test I was terrified thinking it looked nothing like anything we had actually been covering here at home but when he took it he did just fine. I totally agree that this method of assessment is faulty at best and at worst totally detrimental to what our educational goals should be. And as long as it’s been around I really don’t see any evidence at all that it is working.

Leave a Reply

Join 532 other followers

Hearts for Home Blog Hop
Suggested Reading
Virtual Education Blog

Casey A. Carlson

the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

My Cozy Ranch Home

Loving our Life!

Teaching Craft

Work, resources + blog

goldenreflections1

Just another WordPress.com site

Empowering Thought for Today

Empowering YOU to make the change!

The Road to Domestication

Our Christian/Homeschool Life in a Virtual World

