Teachable Moments

Don’t you just love teachable moments?

I especially love it when those teachable moments involve my children teaching me.

This is how it happened:

The monkeys were loaded up in the van, anxious to leave, when I realized that I needed to give the chickens a little more shade.  I picked up a piece of plywood when, out of the corner of my eye, I spied a definite slithering.  Well, it was more like skittering.  Whatever you call it, it startled me and I squealed.  I focused my attention on the ground, and discovered a three inch lizard.

Most lizards that I have encountered are geckos.  They camouflage well and “skitter” for their lives.  This little guy did neither of those things.  He had black bands along his body and he was very aggressive.  He kept pumping up and down and curling his tail, as if to attack my shoe.  Based on these astute observations, I declared “Hey guys!  I found a baby Gila Monster!”.

We “oohhed” and “aahhed” for some time and then we allowed the chickens to fight over the tasty morsel.

chickens

Later in the day, in my infinite wisdom, I posted a picture of the little critter, captioned it as a baby Gila Monster, and proceeded to prepare dinner.

Here’s where that wonderful moment comes in!  The one you have been waiting for.

During this virtual schooling adventure, “R” has been learning how to investigate and verify information on her own.  She wanted to learn more about our friendly lizard, so she typed “baby Gila Monster” into the search engine.  Lo and behold, the images she discovered of a Gila Monster hatching did NOT match the picture we took of our little visitor.

Lizard

Of course, my dear “R” informed me, in her sweetest 10 year old voice, that “Mom!  You were wrong!”.  She did some more reading and research and finally concluded that the Gila Monster was, in fact, a Western Banded Gecko.  Then, to make me feel better about myself, she made sure to show me the line that stated they are often mistaken for Gila Monsters.

Who knew?

Most parents don’t like to hear their child tell them that they are wrong, but it is music to my ears.  It proves to me that choosing a virtual schooling world was the right decision for us.  My daughter has become more independent and inquisitive than she ever would have been in a traditional school setting.

The next time your child tells you that you are wrong about something, listen to them.  You might just be amazed at what they can teach you if you are willing to learn.

God Bless 🙂

Christy

I am a Christian, Virtual/Homeschooling mom of 3 who loves helping my children realize those AWESOME "lightbulb" moments!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
5 comments on “Teachable Moments
  1. Annie B says:

    You are so right! Thanks for sharing.My son just taught me something too today as we were going to school. God is great! Annie 🙂

  2. Amazing, I think people just assume kids are generally wrong. But kids are smart, I’m glad that you raised such a smart girl!

    • delidiva6953 says:

      Most people do assume that, Maryse, and it is such a shame when they do. My kiddos teach me so much and I am so glad that they are not afraid of challenging authority as long as they can back up their arguments 🙂

  3. mummyshymz says:

    Well done R! I’ve had my daughter correct me too on certain facts too. And I’m happy she did.

Leave a Reply

Join 532 other followers

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Hearts for Home Blog Hop
Suggested Reading
Virtual Education Blog

Casey A. Carlson

the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

My Cozy Ranch Home

Loving our Life!

Teaching Craft

Work, resources + blog

goldenreflections1

Just another WordPress.com site

Empowering Thought for Today

Empowering YOU to make the change!

The Road to Domestication

Our Christian/Homeschool Life in a Virtual World

