Lightbulb Moments

Image

“J” is hard at work

Lately, I have been thinking about the many things I enjoy about our virtual learning adventure.  I believe that the best part of our world is the flexibility we are afforded to learn when, where, and how we want.  Our time spent learning is not relegated to stale textbooks and a stuffy classroom.  We learn together, as a family, more through our experiences than through book work.

One example of this was a science experiment I did with my first grader last week.  “J” was learning about the different ways that plants grow.  Reading the book and looking at the pictures was not enough.  I decided to “take it to the next level”.  I opened the pantry and found a potato that was sprouting, clipped babies off of our spider plant (Charlotte), and opened a package of bean seeds we had bought for our garden.  “J” has been able to see his textbook in action—it has become real for him!  He is checking the potato every day and he is watching the spider plants, which we put in clear vases, for roots.  The most exciting part for him was planting the bean seeds after watching them sprout on the window sill.  Now he is watching the pot and waiting for the next phase of the life cycle.

Times like these are what I call “lightbulb moments” and I relish every one of them.  On the days when I am losing patience I take a step back and remember that I have been blessed with an amazing opportunity—the opportunity to be a part of all those little “lightbulb moments”.

I can’t wait to see what tomorrow will bring!

God Bless 🙂

Christy

I am a Christian, Virtual/Homeschooling mom of 3 who loves helping my children realize those AWESOME "lightbulb" moments!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Science

Leave a Reply

Join 532 other followers

Hearts for Home Blog Hop
Suggested Reading
Virtual Education Blog

Casey A. Carlson

the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

My Cozy Ranch Home

Loving our Life!

Teaching Craft

Work, resources + blog

goldenreflections1

Just another WordPress.com site

Empowering Thought for Today

Empowering YOU to make the change!

The Road to Domestication

Our Christian/Homeschool Life in a Virtual World

